Angies List: Report Date: October 28, 2010

Work Done:Yes

Work Completed Date: October 11, 2010

Hire Again: Yes

Approximate Cost:

$950.00

Home Build Year:

1970

Description Of Work:

Full home inspection ($325), septic dye test ($125), radon testing ($125), mold test ($325), pest inspection ($50), appliance recall report (free)

Member Comments:

We are first time home buyers and Dan Howard was referred to us by a friend. Dan was simply stated - amazing. Dan & his assistant arrived precisely on time at 9am. After introductions, they began the home inspection. Dan & Jim were patient with our many questions & provided in-depth explanations of the work they were performing, as well as how things work (i.e. he explained how a furnace technically works). Dan & Jim were extremely thorough. They didn't complete the inspection until 2pm that day and returned 2 days later to pick up the radon test & conducted the mold testing at that time (we decided after the inspection, we'd like to have this done). One example of their professionalism & thoroughness is that the property we had inspected had been vacant for 3 years. Dan asked us the length of vacancy because approx 300 gallons of water are needed to do a thorough septic dye test. It took 3 hours to run through 300 gallons of water. My understanding is that most inspectors don't take the time to do this. The result was the septic system didn't pass the inspection. This was HUGE - because it allowed us to negotiate w/ the seller to get this fixed. New septic systems can run up to $25000. As long as Dan Howard has a company, my family will use him for our home inspections. Amazing. If I could give an A++, i would.

angies list Report Date: September 09, 2009

Work Done:

Yes
* More Weight is given to a report where work has been completed.

Work Completed Date:

August 20, 2009

Hire Again:

Yes

Approximate Cost:

$550.00

Description Of Work:

We called Dan in as a secondary specialist with regard to mold identification. He conducted an internal v. external air test and a comprehensive expanded fungal report.

Member Comments:

The most important thing to know about Dan is that he is very passionate about his work and doesn't appear to pull any punches when it comes down to telling you what you have and what it means. He has trained many of the local area inspectors with regard to Mold. He was patient with us as first time buyers and first time basement owners. He identified our problem and outlined his recommendations in an organized and efficient way. We appreciate that he was candid and that he taught us what to look for.

http://www.angieslist.com/AngiesList/images/my_angie/CheckTheList/SPInformation/error.gif Concerns? Please tell us!

Page Of Happiness Nominee

Overall

A

Price

A

Quality

A

Responsiveness

A

Punctuality

A

Professionalism

A

http://www.angieslist.com/AngiesList/images/avatar48.gif

View Member Report Histogram View all Reports by this Member

Additional Questions Answered when completing this report

How much did the final cost compare to the original estimate? right on

How does the value of the work compare to the price? I got exactly what I paid for

How far in advance did you schedule the work? within a week

Did you find the company through Angie's List? no

If no, what was the other source? recommendation of realtor and primary inspector

Why did you choose this contractor? Reputation

Have you used this company before? this is the first time I've used this company

What did you like most about this contractor? I like that he was really forthcoming about what the market offered in terms of remediation - essentially, you get what you pay for. What did you like least about this contractor? Interestingly, our realtor was under the impression that his forthright manor may have cost her a client in the past - she was surprised and pleased with how hands on he was. Her opinion changed.What surprises came up during the course of the work? I was surprised by how accessible he was - having the reputation he has for being so good.What words of advice would you give other members considering this contractor? His recommendations don't allow for shortcuts. Be prepared to get the most comprehensive advice for better or for worse.

What words of advice would you give this contractor? None.

angies LIST: Report Date: August 09, 2005

Work Done:

Yes
* More Weight is given to a report where work has been completed.Hire Again:

Yes

Approximate Cost:

$650.00

Description Of Work:

DAN HAD TO COME TO A HOME WE WERE GOING TO BUY AND INSPECT IT BEFORE WE COULD BUY IT.

Member Comments:

DAN WAS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND COURTEOUS. HE DID A VERY GOOD JOB OF DISCOVERING SOME PROBLEMS THAT WE DID NOT KNOW ABOUT. HE DID A THOROUGH JOB AND WAS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE.

EMAIL 12/07/10

Dan,

I did receive the results with all attachments last night. Thank you

for coming out to perform the testing and the detailed explanation. I

am glad that Dave recommended you and I certainly will do the same.

I see that you've already included Don on the email and I will be in

touch with Dave to find out the next move. I will give you a call

when the remediation is completed. Have a great holiday!

Sincerely,

Jeremy

412-953-xxxx

EMAIL 11/19/2010

Dan – thank you very much for confirming what we had suspected…we appreciate your thorough work and for coming so quickly.

With appreciation – Angela xxxxxx

EMAIL 11/18/2010

Thank you. It is really good to have a second opinion in this matter. We have moved back into our house and feel good about that. It sounds like the next step in this remediation process (a fan of some sort) should be the last.

Thank you again for your help and advice.

Sara

EMAIL 9/17/2010

Thanks Dan I'm already recomending you to others we are very pleased with your work. Thanks for talking us into RADON test they are fixing it next week I will sleep better because of you. Linda They sent in electrician and we got elect hot water tank we paid the difference and the roofer was out for the chimney and roof flashing. Great work Linda

EMAIL 8/24/2010

Hi Dan,

If I didn't meet from your work,

The only other option is as a friend.

your are a great guy. thanks, dale

EMAIL 6/28/2010

Dear Dan,

I haven't moved into my new home - it is taking longer than I thought - painting - carpeting, etc. I am planning on moving 7/29 and hopefully, I will not find anything else wrong. It seems they must have put marks in the ceramic tiles when they moved the furniture and whoever tried to fix the leaky faucet in the kitchen, didn't do a satisfactory job and lost the letter cap off the faucet. I haven't even tried the downstairs toilet yet, afraid there might be something else wrong. I'm sure everyone must go through the same situation.

On a different subject, I will gladly recommend you to anyone I know that is moving.

Because of you, I knew about the furnace which is a big thing.

Thanks again.

Martha

EMAIL 3/3/2010

Dan

I just want to thank you for the very professional inspection you did on a home my wife and I planned to purchase. If it was not for you, we would have been stuck with replacing a septic tank at a cost of anywhere from $12,000 to $35,000. The seller lied on the disclosure form leading us to assume that it was in good working order. During your inspection you found problems with the plumbing and the septic and advised me to have a Phase 2 inspection. I contacted a local septic specialist in the immediate area and to my amazement was told that he had personally been to the property approximately 2 years ago at the request the present owner. After his inspection he reported to her that the septic system needed total replacement and that trying to service the existing system was a waste of time and money as it would not resolve the issue of the septic for any length of time. She in turn told him that she did not want to pay for a new system as she was planning to sell the property. This has led us to revise our contract on purchasing this property to include septic replacement (with original receipts as proof that the work was done properly) or we will cancel our purchasing agreement.

Thank you for a job well done. I would highly recommend your company to any home buyer.

Bill

EMAIL 1/28/2010

Dan, you are the man. Thank you for your report and your extended service.

Andre

EMAIL 1/22/2010

Mr. Howard

Your company did the inspection at 101 Schenk Ln. for us he did an excellent job, at the time I was complaining $500. Until he was done he was worth every cent. Now the reason I'm e-mailing is in the inspection your inspector found the furnace was bad and needed replaced it was a 160,000 BTU . A new furnace was installed by the owners insurance but the BTU rating is 90,000 is this furnace big enough for this house.

Thanks

Harry &Linda

EMAIL 1/14/2010

That is so awesome and very nice of you. Your right. Time has flown since we last met and my work has occupied most of it. I have taken your advice to heart though and although I have not had a chance to contact the firm you mentioned I did mention to my lawyer via voice mail that I am not going to close until we determine exactly where the developer stands financially and where the building stands occupancy wise. Even then I told him that If they still want me to close now then we will have to renegotiate the price. This was yesterday and I've yet to hear back from him. I wish I had more good people like yourself on my side. Thanks again for the helpful advice.

Andrew K.

EMAIL 12/23/2010

Merry Christmas Dan,

Carol is buying 130 Mohawk. We are to close on Dec. 29th. Thank you for that you do. I hope to work more with you in 2010,

I sure do reccomend to my buyers. You are the best!

sincerely,

carol

EMAIL 12/11/2010

Hi Dan -

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you. As I am sure you can relate...moving is so busy and hectic therefore I haven't been checking my e-mail as much as before the move!!

Anyway, the house is wonderful!! We love it. We had asked the owners to fix a few of the items that you had targeted in your home inspection and they completed all that we asked with no problem which was great.

Now that we have been there for about 2 months now, we are starting to do some updates on the house. I am very excited to start the projects!

Thank you very much for the thorough home inspection, we would absolutely use you again in the future! I also will pass along your name to everyone I hear about buying a house...you did a great job!!

Thanks again -

Samantha

EMAIL 9/11/2010


Hi Dan -

We would like to thank to you and to your inspector who performed the inspection for you service. We were content as the last time. The only reason why I am getting to you rather late is I am busy both in my work and with moving - I have a triple dose of it. But thank you very much for you service and we would/will choose you agency for the home inspections next time again.

Have a nice day.

Petr

Hello Dan,

Happy Monday afternoon.

If you want to find out the most accurate information about a home that you are buying then Dan Howard is the professional that you want to hire for a complete unbiased home inspection. His on-site report gives you everything that you need to help you make an informed decision. He doesn’t take any shortcuts or ignore things that other inspectors may overlook and when you hire Dan you can feel confident that you are receiving the best inspection in the Valley!

Have a fantastic day,

Sylvia

EMAIL 6/11/2010

Dan, You are the man!... Thank you for taking a few extra minutes to help out.

Thank you, Nathan

EMAIL 4/30/2009

Dear Dan, Thanks for your concern and support. Actually my deal fell through at 1117 7th avenue, however the GOOD news is I am currently making an offer on a property at 1200 6th avenue. When we agree on a price I will be calling to schedule an inspection. So our paths will once again cross. Thanks for your patience. Marsha

EMAIL 4/28/2010 Dan, 4/4/28/09

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for all the help you have given me in preparing my house for sale. I can honestly say your expertise was immediately evident to me on your visit.

Being the worrisome type, you managed to help me tremendously by sorting out exactly where I needed to concentrate my time and money versus the areas that I was needlessly concerned about. Your suggestions on how to resolve certain situations simply and extremely cost effectively was truly appreciated.

Also, I would like to thank you for so promptly returning my follow up calls on several different issues that came up and taking the time to talk to me about them. In this day and age this level of service is difficult to find. I look forward to doing business with you in the future.

Sincerely,

Art

P.S. I found your website extremely informative, easy to navigate and with a wealth of information all in one place!!

EMAIL 4/28/2009

Dan,

You are fabulous! I won’t lose the realtor and I won’t lose my inspector. I am now paranoid about my house in OC. Perhaps when this is all settled you can visit me there for an inspection. Thank you so very much. I regard your expertise highly and will share the “good news”

carol